Unanswered: Help with Optimizing SQL Query (Moving a WHERE Statement)

The following SQL Query runs much too slow for my purposes.

Code:
    SELECT tblDt.Dt, tblGx.GID, tblHydroProfiles.Capacity, tblGx.Cost
    FROM tblGx INNER JOIN (tblDt INNER JOIN tblHydroProfiles ON (tblDt.Hour=tblHydroProfiles.Hour) AND (tblDt.DOW=tblHydroProfiles.DOW) AND (tblDt.Month=tblHydroProfiles.Month)) ON tblGx.ProfileID=tblHydroProfiles.HydroProfileID
    WHERE (((tblGx.InServiceDate)<=tblDt!Dt) And ((tblGx.OutServiceDate)>tblDt!Dt)) And (tblDt.Dt)>=#1/1/2007# And (tblDt.Dt)<=#1/1/2008# And (tblGx.ResID)=1 Or (tblGx.ResID)=8
    ORDER BY Dt, GID;
    Since I am just learning SQL, I am sure that there are many ways to optimize the code.

To start, I would like to move the second las line:

Code:
    (tblGx.ResID)=1 Or (tblGx.ResID)=8
    To the second line so that it is executed before the join (since removing it entirely speeds up operation):
    Code:
    FROM tblGx INNER JOIN (tblDt INNER JOIN tblHydroProfiles ON
    Is this possible?

Nope. Those are conditions ... They have to stay there. You can optimise them or reorder them.

On that subject: This part of your condition can be optimized ...

(tblDt.Dt)>=#1/1/2007# And (tblDt.Dt)<=#1/1/2008#

TO: (tblDt.Dt BETWEEN #1/1/2007# AND #1/1/2008#)

As for your speed up: Do you really need those last 2 conditions?
    Back to Access ... ADO is not the way to go for speed ...

Well, the complete SQL statement is this:

Code:
    SELECT DEV.Dt AS Dt, tblGx.GID AS GID, IIf(tblOutages!GID Is Null,Installed_Capacity,0) AS Actual_Capacity, tblGx.Cost AS Cost
    FROM [

SELECT tblDt.Dt, tblGx.GID, tblGx.Installed_Capacity,  tblGx.Cost FROM tblDt, tblGx 
    WHERE Dt >=#1/1/2007# And Dt <#1/1/2008# AND tblGx.ResID <> 1 AND tblGx.ResID <> 2 AND tblGx.ResID <> 8
    UNION SELECT tblDt.Dt, tblGx.GID, tblHydroProfiles.Capacity, tblGx.Cost