Unanswered: Complete newbie drowning... help?

Hello to all on the forum,

Ive been following the access forums for a couple weeks since I unwittingly took on an access project as a favour. I didn't want to post until I was really stuck, and here I am. I have a couple of simple questions, I think Im looking for advice on my methodology. Any suggestions would be great.

Im designing a Contacts database for an organisation through Access 2003. Its fairly standard stuff. Name Position Address etc etc. A fewcomplications though, I am having trouble with.

1. A member supplies 2 addresses (work and home) but I need to specify one as a mailing address. And provide mailing lists with that address. Im attempting to define this through using checkboxes in the table. Where do I specify? Would this be a query or in a report or form?

2. Memberships can be honorary, prospective, corporate, personal. Depending on whats specified, (personal or corporate) a further condition is applied, ie. if the membership is valid or expired. this condition is dependant on when the membership was renewed. Do I set this up through a query?

3. I need to supply a wide range of reports, and I need to be able to print as mailing reports etc, and these need to be user defined. eg. a report based on all members from a certain region. Do I have to define an individual report for each region? Or can I supply a facility to define reports through the use of dropdown boxes?

I realise, these are very basic questions. I really hesitated about posting, cuz I wanted to sort them myself, but Im lost. I tend to be fairly lame with computers, this being the first time I have attempted something like this. Ive been beating my head against this db for 3 weeks and the Access Bible still reads like heiroglyphics to me. Anyway. they are three of the many questions I have. All input gratefully appreciated.

Cheers.