Unanswered: Problem cancelling new record

I have a bound form with an option group on it. As a consequence, when I move to a new record, say by mistake and wish to cancel, the option group value is recorded in the underlying table and so there is a new record. Because it does not have required data, I am unable to move away from it. Clearing the form data does not affect the option group value.

If I unbind the control, then moving away from the record cancels the update but this does not happen with the bound control,

Ideally, I want the cancellation to happen by moving away from the new record or by clicking on a Clear button but can't get anything to work.

Ideas would be gratefully received.

Try removing the defaults for the option group field in both the table and form.

Environment:
    Self Taught In ALL Environments.....And It Shows!

Please ignore this thread

Thanks for the suggestion. I had tried that but it made no difference, though I thought it would. However, and something I should have tried before posting (sorry), I have created a testbed form with just the basic functionality and this works perfectly. So, something else is affecting the saving of the record - just don't know what it is at the moment .

When (if?) I find it, I'll post the reason to close the thread.

Quote Originally Posted by Philip Avery
    I have a bound form with an option group on it. As a consequence, when I move to a new record, say by mistake and wish to cancel, the option group value is recorded in the underlying table and so there is a new record. Because it does not have required data, I am unable to move away from it. Clearing the form data does not affect the option group value.

If I unbind the control, then moving away from the record cancels the update but this does not happen with the bound control,

Ideally, I want the cancellation to happen by moving away from the new record or by clicking on a Clear button but can't get anything to work.