Unanswered: Derived tables in Access

Hi,

I'm new to Databases and I'm starting in an entry position that has a lot to do with elementary things of databases. That is the same case for a co-worker and we have a little discussion going on about derived tables in Access.

To make it easier to explain, let's say we are looking at the ER diagram and we don't have access to any other view of the Database. I say that there are not derived tables on that diagram because by definition a derived table is a table obtained from other tables directly or indirectly through the evaluation of a query expression, and if we look at those tables, there are fields in each of them that can't be find in any other table of the Database. From this ER view a derived table would be a table that can be entirely gotten from fields in the other tables.

He says he doesn't believe me, and I'm kind of new in this subject, so now I'm kind of un-sure if I my reasoning is right. Who is right ?

Thanks.

Regards,

David

Interesting...I'ld say it depends upon how the derived table was initialy structured and the specific purpose it serves. If the data within the derived table will not interfere (modify) with current data held within the database tables which the derived table is generated from in any way then I'ld say you're right. But if it does then I'ld say you're wrong.

Environment:
    Self Taught In ALL Environments.....And It Shows!

Thanks CyberLynx for your answer.

I'm trying to understand what you meant as I'm new in this subject:

The discussion I have with my co-worker is how to determine if there are derived tables just by looking at the ER diagram. When you said: "it depends upon how the derived table was initialy structured", what do you mean, having in mind that we are just looking at the ER diagram, and we don't know which tables from that diagram are base and which are derived. That's what we are trying to determine.

Regards,

David

Quote Originally Posted by DavidMoore