Unanswered: beginner - connection and sql query

Hello,

I am a complete beginner with vba but I do know databases fairly well (sql server and access). I have purchased a book to try and familiarise myself with vba and I am struggling a little. I have created a new form in the northwind database with a 'northwind' ODBC conection and I have checked the ActiveX Data Objects 2.7 library item. I have used the following code (from the book) which I hoped would limit my record selection to three rows that had Canada as the country and that it would display a message box for these three rows (thats what book says it does anyway!!) and the code does read like that. I have simply placed the code against the new form. When I open the form however, nothing happens. I am well aware that I am probably doing it all wrong but can someone tell me how I get code such as this to work. Can you even do this from within access or should it be from an external program? I understand the code and exactly what it is doing but I don't know where it should be placed etc. Should it be in a specific section or should it not be placed within a form?

The code is as follows:

Option Compare Database

Sub recordsetdata()
    Dim rs As Recordset
    Dim strSELECT As String
    '
    'Create the Recordset object
    '
    Set rs = CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset")
    '
    ' Open it
    '
    strSELECT = "SELECT * FROM Customers WHERE Country = 'Canada' " & _
    "Order BY CompanyName;"
    rs.Open strSELECT, "Northwind", adOpenKeyset
    '
    'Display the Contact Name and Company Name
    '
    If rs.RecordCount > 0 Then

MsgBox rs("ContactName") & ", " & rs("CompanyName")

End If
    '
    'Close it
    '
    rs.Close
    Set rs = Nothing
    End Sub

Please help!!
    Last edited by thommo67; 05-22-06 at 04:58.