Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    30

    Angry Unanswered: Data Type for an Account Number

    I've been working on fairly easy Access Databases for work but I hit another snag.

    With the various choices one can select for a Number Data Type I wanted to know is there a way to use a Number Data Type (i.e. Double, long interger, etc) for an account number that has 15 numeric characters? None of these selections work. Is my only solution to make it a text field field?

    Thank you for your help!!
    Wendy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,487
    Whoa...long acount number. May as well go Memo (just kidding).

    15 is about your limit using the Double numeric type. Just use the pound symbol after the number - i.e.:

    Dim Num As Double
    Num = 999999999999999#
    MsgBox Num

    In Table: Set the number type to Double. In the format property place no more than 15 zeros.

    .
    Environment:
    Self Taught In ALL Environments.....And It Shows!


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    if you aren't doing any mathmatics with the number then I'd suggest using text
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia USA
    Posts
    2,763
    Provided Answers: 19
    I agree with the reprobate formally known as Mary! If you're not doing calculations with the account numbers (and I can't imagine that you are) use a text data type.
    Hope this helps!

    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    30
    Thank you Heldam and CyberLynx. I like your sense of humor Cyber!!

    Cheers!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    30
    Hey Missing, thanks also. I'm not doing any calculations but if I use a text field it creates quotes which is causing me a big headache because I am trying to export the infor into a CSV file. Which was my next help I needed how to get rid of the quotes when exporting into a CSV file. I'm thinking maybe I should have stuck to Sales instead of MIS reporting.....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •