Unanswered: repeating Macro on selected rows

Hi,

Guys i need your help. Im a newbie to this and thank anyone who gives my post a look see.

I have created a macro to run on a certain row, i have created it in the 'relative' mode as to run it on differnt rows dependant on the active cell.

I have a spreadsheet in which the rows of data are variable. For example i can have 500 rows of data one week and 1000 the next.

What i want to do is repeat the macro on all the lines with data in them.

I know that it is a For loop i need to create however i am not fully versed in VBA.

here is a example

A ------B---------C--------D

1 ------jo--------pete

2 ------bill-------jon

3 <<<< no data on this row

4 -----elli-------jim

I run a macro which does soemthing to D column next to the data. I want to repeat the macro on each row that contains data in the C column. C3 is blank so i dont want the macro to be run on D3.

Can anybody help me please.

Thankyou.
    Last edited by aboo; 05-30-06 at 21:19.

Howdy. You can use an If Then statement, checking whether the cell in Col is blank.

Code:
    Sub test()
        Dim lngRow As Long
        Dim lngLastRow As Long
        lngLastRow = Range("D65356").End(xlUp).Row

For lngRow = 2 To lngLastRow

If Range("C" & lngRow).Value <> "" Then Range("D" & lngRow).Value = Range("D" & lngRow).Value + 1
        Next lngRow
    End Sub
    old, slow, and confused
    but at least I'm inconsistent!

Rich
    (retired Excel 2003 user, 3/28/2008)

How to ask a question on forums

Ty for replyin shades this has pointed me in the right directions., is it possible for you to put comments on the lines as i do not understand the function of .End(xlUp).Row

Thank you for your time once again.

aboo