Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Query Form

Unanswered: Query Form

I'll admit from the start that I'm a newbie at Access 2003 and I've tried looking in the help file and internet searches. But I've become stumped on how to create what I'm looking for.

I would like to create a form that performs a query that has drop down menus with info from each specific column in a table. That way I don't have to necessarily need to know off the top of my head what data is entered in that column, but can click the drop down menu and get all of the data listed in that particular column. Once have a particular set of info selected, then have a button like "submit" and then the query results appear in a form and click through each page or results.

Is this possible?

Yes it is. And there are limitless ways for you to do it ...
    Back to Access ... ADO is not the way to go for speed ...

If you are new to Access then I would assume you are new to programming in VBA. If so then I personally don't know how you would be able to do it. I would consider what you are trying to do an intermediate level project. You will first have to learn VBA (Visual Basic for Applications), Access forms and table design as well as SQL.

The jist of the process is the create an unbound form with all of your controls (combo boxes, check boxes, text boxes, etc.). Then create a subform. The subform should be a continuous form with all of the fields you want the user to see (this will be your results). Add the subform to the form. Then behind the form (in the form module) add the code that builds a WHERE clause based on the selections the user picked. Then change the RecordSource of the subform to display the filtered records.

The more controls you add to the form the more complicated the WHERE clause construction becomes.