Question Any advice for a new DB developer?

Hi all

I am considering a career change to become a DB programmer. I can already write VB code and design DB's in Excel. I am a self-taught beginner.

However - it seems to me that there are many, many, many DB servers, languages, applications out there (Access, SQL, Cold Fusion, Java, XML ... etc).

How do I find out which languages and applications are of most use in the employment market - so I can get the relevant training & experience to make myself employable ? Where is a good place to start and get the right experience ? Any good websites ?

Many Thanks

BikeMan

Welcome Bikeman,my advice would be plain and simple,- practice RAJA YOGA
    Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm.
    - Sir Winston Churchill
    Joydeep

Quote Originally Posted by bikeman
    I can already write VB code and design DB's in Excel.
    Well, if you want to be taken seriously as a DBA, my first advice would be NEVER SAY THAT AGAIN.

If that is what you know, you almost literally know nothing about databases.

Here is my advice:
    1. Get a copy of Microsoft SQL Server Developer's Edition (I believe it is a free download...).
    2. Get a book about database design that teaches you principles such as normalization.
    3. Learn SQL.
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

I am with BM though I would learn relational principles first then learn SQL in tandem with an RDBMS (and SQL Server would be my first choice there too especially as you can pick up a free version on MS.com).

VB and Excel are to databases what coutesy and good naturedness are to DBAs.
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

Be a sponge.