Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    250

    Unanswered: Enterprise Manager

    Hi,

    My Question is regarding the Query Analyzer.

    When we click on the Query Analyzer Shortcut, it will prompt for a user id and password.but when we expand the databases node from EM and clicks on Tools->Query Analyzer Menu, after selecting a database node, the QA does not prompt for the user id and password. Can any one explain this behaviour of QA..

    I am using Mixed mode authentication for my db server.
    Cheers....

    baburajv

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    In front of the computer
    Posts
    15,579
    Provided Answers: 54
    Enterprise Mangler launches QA using the same credentials used for the database connection being used by Enterprise Mangler.

    -PatP

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    250
    could you please elaborate..
    Cheers....

    baburajv

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    26
    'Enterprise Mangler'.... nice

    In order to have access to a database through the EM, you first have to register that server - selecting the server name, login name and password to establish a connection.

    When you launch QA through the EM, you are doing it through an already established connection, the login & password are already there.

    A simplified explanation, theres probably a more technical one than i would be able to provide, but it should give you a basic answer to what you're asking.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    1,245
    Quote Originally Posted by baburajv
    could you please elaborate..

    When you register a database in Enterprise Manager, you have to enter in the credentials you wish to use. If you right click on the server node (in EM) and select Edit SQL Server Registration Properties, you will see the credentials you used to register the database.

    When launching Query Analyzer (QA) from EM, QA simply re-uses these credentials.

    I have seen posted somewhere code that will hack your registry to find the username and passwords for all the nodes in your EM console. Just something to think about.

    Regards,

    hmscott
    Have you hugged your backup today?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    12,592
    Provided Answers: 1
    When you expand the database node and launch Query Analyzer, Enterprise Manager assumes you want to run a query on the server and in the database you have selected (expanded). Without selecting/expanding a database in Enterprise Manager, it has no idea what server and database you want to use, so it has to prompt you.
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

    blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    250
    Thank you very much...
    Cheers....

    baburajv

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •