Unhappy Unanswered: spliting data into multiple fields

Hi all,
    i have about 38000 records of various fields.
    one of the field has two different type of datas embeded together. for example...

field1 Field2
    TX77642 01234000000Gibson
    TX44568 01235000000dale
    CA23456
    so on and so forth, i can cut and paste the records of all fields in access easily.

From the first field i would like to seperate the text with numbers
    Second field i want to seperate first five numebers in one field and name at the end into another field. for example
    field2 field3
    01234 gibson

I have tried using queries but no luck here, since i am a newbie at access i am having hard time converting that. I am using access 2003.
    Any help would be greatly appriciated.

Thanks alot

Provided Answers: 19
    First off, where are these records coming from, an Access table or from another program? Secondly, is these these records a one time event, or will you be doing this on a regular basis? Obviously cutting and pasting ain't gonna cut it with 38 k records!
    Hope this helps!

The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

Provided Answers: 59
    wonder if access has an equivalent of regular expressions

an approach would be to write a function which removes all digits, or all letters

if you know your data is always prefixed / suffixed with the same characters then you could do it as an update query

in nayevent I'd get the data into an access table, copy the table then update the copy. if all ok then overwrite the original....
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

Missinglinq, healdem: