Question Unanswered: Navicat problem: Exporting...

Hi Everyone,

I've decided to use Navicat to help create the MySQL database i require for a dymanic website i'm creating using coldfusion. I'm rather new to using navicat and so i'm unsure as to how i can export data. I've been using Microsoft Access mostly for designing any databases i may need. I'm now giving MySQL a shot and i'm using Navicat as my interface to designing MySQL databases. Basically i'm creating a database driven website using coldfusion... normally when i used Access to create my databases i could simply cut and paste the actual database file generated by Access into the 'wwwroot' folder which it needs to be in order for me to locally develop my dynamic website. However i'm not sure how to do this with navicat... I in a sense want to export the entire database i have created into that 'wwwroot' folder in order for me to continue developing. How would i go about doing this?

Would i need to simply select every table in the database and using the export wizard to export it to the 'wwwroot' folder? And if so, which export format should i use? I noticed i can export tables into a MS Access format, but i can't imagine that being wise since the actual database will be hosted on a linux server once its complete. So in order for the database to function correctly on my linux server, which export format do you think i should use?

Thanks for your help, it's much appreciated .

- CK

Provided Answers: 59
    Hi CK, and welcome to the forum

fist off I think there is a boit of cnfusion about how MySQL interacts with your web server. The web server places a request to the dbserver. the webserver doesn't know where the dbserver physcially sits (it couild be on the same machine, it could be on a machine next door, next rack, or half way accross the world.