Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Colton, CA
    Posts
    26

    Unanswered: Produce an ERD from an existing DB

    Hi, I'm a n00b so go easy on me

    I have an Access97 DB which was produced by a colleague who was unfamiliar with the whole design thing.

    I'm currently adding some functionality to the DB, but without an ERD I'm having a hard time grabbing data from tables and working out how everything is linked.

    Is there an application which will analyze my DB and produce a .HTML/.JPG/.DOC ERD (or at least have a guess at it)?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    visio 2000 professional might go part way to what you want

    if cash is tight.....
    failing that you could go round the houses and export the model to say MySQL and use soemthing like workbecnh to reverse engineer the model

    what actually do you want to do?

    would doing a print of the relationships do what you want?
    Last edited by healdem; 06-20-06 at 05:28.
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Colton, CA
    Posts
    26
    Yeah, I guess a print of the relationships would do it - but there's no 'Print...' option when you're viewing the relationships...
    Geek it till it mHz

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia USA
    Posts
    2,763
    Provided Answers: 19
    spikey_richie,

    Open your db and click on Relationships on the menu bar. Next on the menu bar goto File then Print Relationships. This brings up what is actually a Report showing the various tables and their relationships. Finally click on Print on the menu bar. The report of relationships will be printed and you will be asked if you want to save the relationships as a report.
    Hope this helps!

    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Colton, CA
    Posts
    26
    There is no option to Print Relationships!
    Geek it till it mHz

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia USA
    Posts
    2,763
    Provided Answers: 19
    Almost forgot; once the report of the relationships comes up, you can Right Click and select Zoom to increase the size of the relationship charts, making them more ledgible.
    Hope this helps!

    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    13
    Spikey, there was a step missing that may help you: you need to be viewing the relationships
    (from the db menu -> Tools -> Relationships)
    THEN File->Print Relationships
    thx,
    mlt

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Colton, CA
    Posts
    26
    Again - the option to print does NOT appear on ANY of the menus...

    http://www.spikey-richie.co.uk/temp/print.JPG
    Last edited by spikey_richie; 06-19-06 at 20:10.
    Geek it till it mHz

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia USA
    Posts
    2,763
    Provided Answers: 19
    Forgot, you're using the dinosaur, Acess97! Sorry! Don't know what to tell you!
    Hope this helps!

    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Colton, CA
    Posts
    26
    I guess I could open it with Access2k/XP/2003 then do what I need to do.
    Geek it till it mHz

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    if you have A2000 then thats a good work around to print realtionships from an A97 model. just a word of caution Access doesn't neccesarily work to well if more than one version is installed at the same time.

    Failing that depending how big your model is you may be able take screen dump(s)
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    441
    I haven't tested, but it seems this
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/q175202/
    is still available
    Roy-Vidar

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Colton, CA
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by RoyVidar
    I haven't tested, but it seems this
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/q175202/
    is still available
    Perfect! That's just what I needed thank you very much!
    Geek it till it mHz

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •