Unanswered: Previous post was wrong - Please read this one

I'm a real newbie. I have created a database with a form that allows trainers to input the evaluation responses from participants. There are 20 questions and each question has a combo box with agree, disagree, neutral, disagree, strongly disagree, n/a.

I need to create a report that shows the question and gives a count of agree, disagree, etc, for each question, but don't know how to create something that totals the answers. Can someone help me please.

Thank you in advance.
    Kathy

Provided Answers: 59
    how is your data stored

carefull report design may be able to give you what you require (you can use the count() function to count the number of respnoses for each question). You may need to define the reports sort as "question" rather than "questionairre" order - set a group footer and place soem controls whose data source is count[<myquestionresponse])

effectviely you have 6 responses stylistically you could do this using a series of IIF in a query, but please be warned if you go down that route it will be a pig to maintain and proove is correct.

Personally for performance reasons I'd avoid using the sum in the question footer, butinstead use some code int he reports on format event. there is no reason why you couldn't use a series of dlookups (akthough I'd advise against using that again for pereformance), but you could do the same effect by issuing a series of sql statements. Heck you could even use fiendishly complex single SQL statement using group by.

But in the spirit of KISS stick to a simple reprot and use count() in the section / group footer
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

Counting responses into a report