Unanswered: Count from query displayed in msgbox

I'm looking to create a command button on a form that will execute a query called "Count Daily Transactions." The SQL for the query is:

SELECT Count(*) AS [Total Transactions]
    FROM All_Inventory_2006
    WHERE (((All_Inventory_2006.Date)=[Enter Date to Count]));

The query runs just fine, but the query window pops up with the result of the query in a field I call "Total Transactions."

I created a macro that performs the query when the command button is pressed, but the query window pops up with the result [Total Transactions].

What I'd like to be able to do is execute this query from the form's command button, have the user enter the date they'd like to count in an InputBox, and print the results from that count into a msgbox that will pop up.

I do not, however, wish for the query window to pop up at all.

I'm very new to access and VB and am unsure as how I should go about doing this. Should I scratch this query alltogether and incorporate the SQL into my private subroutine? If so, what would the code be to create that dynamic query?

Here's my Click subroutine:

Private Sub Count_Daily_Transactions_Click()

Dim message, title, default
    Dim inputData As String
    Dim transactions As String

message = "Count transactions for which date?"
    title = "Count Daily Transactions"
    default = "Not enough information to proceed!"

inputData = InputBox(message, title, default) 'User's input

'NEED CODE HERE TO EXECUTE QUERY WITH USER'S INPUT

MsgBox transactions & "transactions for date " & inputData 'MsgBox displaying count

End Sub

The count will be from the All_Inventory_2006 table under the Date column where the date is equal to the user's input date.

Any suggestions?

Update

I modified the subroutine to incorporate the DCount function:

Dim inputData As Date

default = ""

inputData = InputBox(message, title, default) 'User's input