Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Unanswered: Using F5 and F6 keys to enter date and Time

I have used an Access DB where the F5 and F6 key was used to input the current date (F5) and the Current Time (F6).

I am designing a db and need to use these shortcuts on the database, but I am not sure how to do this, can anyone help me with this.
    Will Dove
    working hard is better then hardly working ...

Both the F5 and F6 keys, are assigned to different functionality alredy

F5 - go to record number box in forms, refresh database window, switch to form view from design view

F6 - move to task pane, switch beween lower/upper part of window (design view) (with ctrl - cycle between open windows)

Why not teach the user the default shortcut keys for date and time in stead?

Ctrl+Semicolon (";")
    Ctrl+Shift+Colon (":")
    Roy-Vidar

Thanks

Thanks, I am still learning all the shortcuts and what not in access. I am still learing new things in Access everyday.

Thanks again
    Will Dove

RoyVider is right...the function keys are already asigned to the environment but MS-Access provides a simple method to utilize these keys to whatever you like on the fly.

The current asignment is global and you may not want to change that. You obviously want this to be Form specific so let's assume you have a Form. On this Form is a TextBox named DateField and another TextBox named TimeField.

Place your form into Design View. Select the Events tab located in the Properties window. Locate the Key Preview event and set it to Yes.

Now...in the Form's On Key Down event set it to Event Procedure and place this code into the code module for this event.

Code:
    Private Sub Form_KeyDown(KeyCode As Integer, Shift As Integer)
       Select Case KeyCode
         Case vbKeyF1
         Case vbKeyF2
         Case vbKeyF3
         Case vbKeyF4
         Case vbKeyF5
            Me.DateField = Date
         Case vbKeyF6
            Me.TimeField = Time
         Case vbKeyF7
         Case vbKeyF8