Unanswered: Only allow one active record

Hi all - need some access advice if someone can help out.

I have a table which amounts to employee assignments. There is an end-date column, and an employee is only allowed to have one active assignment at a time.

Its pretty simple - there are 2 combo boxes for the assignment, and an end-date field. What is the best event to use that a person cannot move to the next empty box to enter a record if there is still an "active" record?

I'll admit I dont really know VBA at all, so I still need to figure out how to code a query to go and check and return an error. I am ok with the query itself, its just actually getting it in VBA.
    Oracle OCPI (Certified Practicing Idiot)

Are you entering data directly into a table or through a form?
    Environment:
    Self Taught In ALL Environments.....And It Shows!

It will be through a form. I will be running a query and counting how many records return - if > 0 then I want to raise an error and not let a new record be created, otherwise continue.

Off hand...I'ld say try using the Form's BeforeUpdate event. If not all fields are filled then Cancel (Cancel = True) the update and set Focus on the field that requires entry.

Environment:
    Self Taught In ALL Environments.....And It Shows!

Ok great - i'll try that and see how it works. Thanks!

Ok well I admit I have no clue how to do this - set up the query fine and it executes as expected. I created 3 parameters for an employee_id, and 2 date fields inside of that query. The query will return one field, and it will just be a count of records.

From what I've read on the web, I need a querydef thing, but I cannot seem to get more than small snippets of code - none of which really goes into depth of what to do once you call the query. Does anyone have a working link or piece of code to call the query, pass in the parameters, and then use the value returned as validation?