Question Unanswered: Database size and speed

I have created this database, and it uses very few queries, and calculations until you ask it for a report. However it is very slow during opening and closing, and when using the database.

Some info on the Db:
    1. used on remotely operated laptops (4 to 8) that then access a secure network to sync with the master database.
    2. used to enter about 600 entries a night. Most data is date, time and notes. otherwise it just pulls data from a table in the database.

I have tired to use an archive feature, but when I sync the db it corrupts all the databases that are synced with it. Index keys are random numbers.

I could really use some help with this, as I am completely self taught on Access and I am still learning new things.

I can step up a MySql server on the Master Computer, so that will not be a problem, however the guys in the field need to be able to access at least 30 days worth of records on each terminal (remote laptop) which does not always have network or internet access.

Thanks for any assistance.
    Will Dove
    working hard is better then hardly working ...

hmmm, a LOT of factors here.

I can only offer pointers with the information so far.

Make sure the Front End is run locally, running the FE remotely is begging for a slow system.

Minimize the network traffic. This can mean a lot of things, depending on how you are setup. For example, you generally want to have the data processed on the server side and only the result sent across the network when possible. In your case, since you want your users to be able to run without the server, do the reverse: move the data locally as straight data and then process. Heck, it's probably faster to move a ZIPPED copy of the BE, unzip and overwrite.

How are you handling the "offline" anyway? How do you manage multiple users adding records independently of each other and then updating to a single back end? Are you "re-keying" the data during the update?

tc