Red face Unanswered: Need help connecting to a Oracle DB

Hi there, im very new to Oracle, and this forum :D , and a lil unsure how to do some stuffs.

My situation is, im working on NetBeans and have to connect to a Oracle DB in Oracle Database 10g Express Edition. So far i did:

import java.sql.Connection;
    import java.sql.DriverManager;
    import java.sql.SQLException;
    import java.sql.ResultSet;
    import java.sql.Statement;

final private String driverName = "oracle.jdbc.driver.OracleDriver";

Im not sure of this the connection string, is the syntax below correct?

conn = DriverManager.getConnection("jdbc:oracle:thin:@ + dbmsHost + ":" + dbmsPortNumber + ":" dbmsName + userId + passWord);

If so, is this how the connection string should look like? Example:
    conn = DriverManager.getConnection("jdbc:oracle:thin:@loc alhost:8081:HashTable,user,pass");

Also in NetBeans, under Runtime, i've added Oracle driver. When trying to connect, they ask for this:
    jdbc:oracle:thin:@<HOST>:<PORT>:<SID>

May i know what is the SID? Is it the table name?

Is there any other thing else i missed out? Do i need to set CLASSPATH in command prompt? Im unsure of what to set besides the "ojdbc14.jar" driver file.

Any help will be appreciated. Been trying to connect for quite some time but i keep getting error msg :S Thanks for reading this.

Provided Answers: 4
    I don't know anything about NetBeans, but, basically, connection to an Oracle database can be done using such a connect string:

connect username/its_password@database

Host, port and SID you are talking about can be found in the TNSNAMES.ORA file (I'm not sure you have it on your computer, but DBA should tell you those values).

Entry in the TNSNAMES.ORA looks like this:
    Code:
    ORA10G =
      (DESCRIPTION =
        (ADDRESS_LIST =
          (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = localhost)(PORT = 1521))
        )
        (CONNECT_DATA =
          (SERVICE_NAME = ora10g)
        )
      )