Unanswered: ODBC-- call failed when using VPN

Hello all.

Please excuse my lack of poper terminology when describing my issue to you, as I am very new to databases.

I have set up a SQL Server database which connects via MS Access. The application works fine, except when trying to connect through VPN.

Through System DSN, I changed the server name (FSERVER) to the server IP address, and test completed successfully. I am also able to ping the server when connected via VPN. However, when I try to start the application, I receive the following error after several seconds:

ODBC-- call failed.

That's it. No other information about the error. I read somewhere to make sure the MDAC versions are the same, which they are.

As I say, I am quite new to this, but would really appreciate any guidance to help me through.

Thanks in advance!
    Nils

Provided Answers: 54
    Without knowing quite a bit about your network, I can't give you a 100% sure-fire answer. My first guess would be that the DSN is set to use some protocol other than TCP/IP in the DSN Client Configuration and your VPN doesn't route that protocol. My next guess would be that your Network/VPN aren't configured to cooperate for name resolution.

Getting more error information than just "ODBC-- call failed." would help. That's not much for me to go on!

-PatP

Thank you for the reply, Pat. Do you know of a way to receive a more verbose error than just "call failed"?

Thanks!
    Nils

Provided Answers: 54
    That's a hard question to answer, it just begs for a smart-alec answer and that wouldn't help you at all.

The problem is most likely in the application/script itself. It apparently does a very poor job of reporting errors, and fails to give you critical information that would help you diagnose and fix this kind of problem.