Unanswered: Auto Number issue

Ok guys and girls, I have 2 problems. 1) I work for this company that had me update and convert their database (Filemaker Pro) to Access. Here's the problem, each record has to have the same number in Access as it did in Filemaker Pro, that's easy. The hard part is that each record in Filemaker Pro is not in sequential order because they were deleted or what not (For example, 1 2 3 4 6 8 12 13 14 21). When I transfer them into Access they are the same number, BUT, on the form where they are able to create a new record, I want the autonumber to work. Maybe check for the last number in the table then add 1. I am not very good at VB so if anyone could help, it would be greatly appreciated.

2) I want to send an email to someone when a record has been deleted. I am able to send and entire table, 1200 record, but i can't figure out how to send just the one record.

Thanks guys/girls I know I came to the right place.

maybe something like this?
    - not autonumber.
    - provides sequential numbers
    - simultaneous-call safe in a multiuser environment
    (it is also DAO, but the process is the same in ADO)

the demo does some fluff-stuff showing references in a form. the sequential number code is in the module.

for the mail - if simple text is all you need try recordset -> textstring -> mail.
    DAO-how (but ADO equivalent exists) and assuming your db 'knows' the ID of the deletion
    dim dabs as dao.database
    dim recs as dao.recordset
    dim strSQL as string
    dim strMsg as string
    strSQL = "SELECT this, that FROM yourTable WHERE ID = " & theKnownID & ";"
    set dabs = currentdb
    set recs = dabs.openrecordset(strSQL)
    with recs
    strMsg = "Someone deleted " & the knownID & vbcrlf & "this=" & !this & vbcrlf & "that=" & !that
    end with
    set recs = nothing
    set dabs = nothing

izy
    Last edited by izyrider; 07-09-06 at 06:22.
    currently using SS 2008R2