Unanswered: Backing Up databases with Enterprise Manager

Please forgive my ignorance - I'm completely new to MSSQL.

Our office bought a set of Laserfiche licenses and had to also buy MSSQL to handle the database end of things. Part of my job is to make sure everything gets backed up. I want to use Enterprise Manager to back up the databases which seems straightforward enough - even though I've never done it.

Our Network Admin has installed a temporary USB drive to hold our back-ups until a more permanent form of media can be installed. He is using drive compression to maximize the space available. The server sees it as Drive F:

I created a folder on F: to contain my MSSQL Back-ups. Then I opened Enterprise Manager and clicked on SQL Server Group, which contains two databases:

(local) (Windows NT)

and

CYWD_IMAGE/LASERFICHE (Windows NT)

My understanding is that they both have to be backed up.

I clicked on the first one, then selected the Database Maintenence Plan Wizard from the 'Tools' menu. I stepped through the process (choosing 'all databases') until I got to the point where I could specify the back-up directory. I was able to browse right to the folder I created and choose it. I could then finish the process normally. The problem is that when I selected the second database (CYWD_IMAGE/LASERFICHE) and launched the wizard I was unable to browse to my folder. I could choose the F: Drive but no folder showed up under it. Oddly, it would not even show me my D: partition (just thought I'd mention that in case it is somehow relevent).

I don't see any difference in the properties tabs between these two databases. The obvious difference is the name, and that one says (local) and the other does not.

I really don't want to choose to dump the back-up into the root of F:

Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks in advance.

Mac

Provided Answers: 1