Unanswered: need to learn more about secure MDBs (was "First Post")

I am a retired engineer who is still learning Access. I have created a MIS for a local school and need to learn more about secure MDBs.

Hope dBforums will help.

Harold Hauge

Sussex, England
    Simple reply, MS Access is not a secure environment.

There are ways to secure an Access database to some extent.

First make a copy of the system.mdw file and rename it. (It's probably a good idea to make a copy of your database at this point).

Second use the wizard to associate a database with an .mdw file (preferably the renamed one not the system.mdw).

Third set up new members and groups in the security file. Give one member ownership of everything and remove admin from any access to anything.

If you can get that far without hassles you might want to come back ot the board for information about the left shift key.

Or if you're woried about security, build the database with SQL SErver or mySQl or SQL anywhere or something and fron end it with something you can compile like VB6.

FAQ for Access 2002

Thanks for the start.

I am starting to work thru "Frequently Asked Questions About Microsoft® Access Security for Microsoft Access versions 2.0 through 2000" which I downloaded from microsoft. I could not find anything similar for 2002 which the school is using.

I also purchased, "Real World Microsoft Access Database Protection and Security" by Garry Robinson but it is a bit much for a beginner so I plan to try the FAQ first.

An other suggestions would be appreciated.

Richmond, Virginia USA
    Provided Answers: 19