Unanswered: SQL Server 2000 - Proper Backup Procedures

Hi everyone I am fairly new to SQL server and need some help with creating backups. I am a little confused whether to append or overwrite my backup data when saving full, differential and transaction log backups to disk. Below is my current backup schedule.

1) A full backup every night at 2:00a.m. that overwrites my existing backup. Should this be an appended backup? Wouldn't my file keep growing? How do I manage the backup file size?
    2) Differential backups every two hours that is set to append. How do I stop this file from growing? Should I be controlling the size of my backups through the backup set expiry option?

How do I incorporate transaction logs into my backup schedule and manage the size of the log? Should the log backups also be appended or overwriten?

I appreciate everyones help in advance.

1. I need to know that which device you used to back up your database..?
    2. What is the existing database size..? is it the sensitive data..?

And if possible, give the growth rate of your database [daily or weekly or monthly] - it will helps to establish precise plan for database back up.
    Rajesh Patel

Everybody says - mistake is the first step of success, but it's not true. The correction of the mistake is the first step of success.

I am currently backing up my backups onto disk.

The current size of my database is 50G and the transaction log is about 20G. Yes the data is sensitive but we do have downtime from about 3am till about 6am.

Is there any way to cut down the size of the log file. I know that I first have to run a complete backup but I am unsure as to how to truncate the log. Can this be done without using T-SQL?

Hope this info helps and thanks in advance.

1. You need to setup your recovery model according to your requirement. This will helps you to manage your transaction log size. For his you should refer "SQL Server Books Online", write 'recovery models' under Index tab.