Unanswered: Changing table properties

Hello;

I wanted to change some table properties but received an error message that table properties cannot be changed because the table was linked to other tables. I went to the relationship window and deleted the relationship but still received the same message. I assume this is because the table has relationships within queries ? Is it possible to change the properties of a table without going in and canceling all the relationships within the queries?

Thanks…

Larry

I think you're out of luck with this one unless perhaps you create a function which would ultimately close all open objects, modify the table property or properties then reopen the objects you want. You will most likely though find that some queries may not function properly or give the results you expect after the change depending upon how extensive they are.

Curious...why would you want to do this?

Environment:
    Self Taught In ALL Environments.....And It Shows!

Hi CyberLynx;

Why... on one I wanted to add a couple of fields. On another I wanted to change the field size. Not what I would consider major changes, just minor enhancements.

Close all open objects... what do you mean by this? The tables are in a seperate database (backend), so no objects are open. However now that I think of it I might have been trying to make the changes from the front-end database. I'll try making the changes on the tables-only database, but I think I may have tried that already sometime back.

Thanks...

Larry

Quote Originally Posted by Larryg