Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: mkd file

Unanswered: mkd file

is there a way/program to directly append a .mkd file?

Provided Answers: 4
    What do you mean by "directly"?
    There are a number of interfaces to the PSQL / Btrieve engine including the BTrieve API, ODBC, JDBC, JCL, PDAC (VCL component), ActiveX, ADO.NET, and OLEDB.

What version of PSQL are you using?
    Mirtheil Software
    Certified Pervasive Developer
    Certified Pervasive Technician
    Custom Btrieve/VB development
    http://www.mirtheil.com
    I do not answer questions by email. Please post on the forum.

sorry, i'm not a programmer, and don't know much about programming. the software our company was using crashed and we can't add any information to our accounting software, they're trying to fix it, but i didn't know if there was any way for us to add info in the mean time.

In that case, there's no way to add data to the MKD file without an application of some kind. The record structure is not stored in the MKD file (it's in the application and/or DDF files). You'd also need to know the business logic in the application (for example product codes or other normalized data).
    You might be able to develop a replacement fairly quickly but I would suggest getting the accounting app fixed. It might be faster.
    Mirtheil Software

i have several ddf files for that database, they are as follows: user.ddf, rights.ddf, index.ddf, file.ddf, field.ddf i don't know if that makes this any easier or not

The DDFs will define the record layout but you'll still need a front end to access the data. With the DDFs, you could use ODBC and something like Access to link the tables but you'd still need to know the business logic of the application to make sure you're getting the right data in the right places.
    You really should get the application fixed.
    What's wrong with the application that it didn't come back up after the crash?
    Mirtheil Software