Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    17

    Unanswered: NotInList nonfunctional with Copy/paste append

    When I enter data into a datasheet manually, my notinlist code works fine, but if I try to copy & paste append from an excel spreadsheet, invalid data can be entered - my notinlist seems to be disabled under those circumstances.
    Any advice would be most appreciated!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    Hi

    There must be more to this than there appears. My NotInList works great with a paste from Excel.

    Could you run through what you have set up (Form, control, data types, pasted value etc)?
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    17
    I am working in Access 2002.
    The datasheet is a subform.
    The combo type is text, seeking the data from another table.
    Valid values in the table are MT & 100Lbs.
    I tried to enter ABC.
    When I enter it manually, it tell me it is not in the list & gives me an option to add it.
    When I copy/paste append, it just gets added.
    This happens with every single combo field in the entire database!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    Are the valid entries from a query or a value list?
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    17
    For this particular field, it's a value list.
    But the same thing is happening for all my combos, including those who's values come from queries.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    Quote Originally Posted by MushMouse
    I am working in Access 2002.
    The datasheet is a subform.
    The combo type is text, seeking the data from another table.
    Valid values in the table are MT & 100Lbs.
    I tried to enter ABC.
    When I enter it manually, it tell me it is not in the list & gives me an option to add it.
    ....
    it's a value list
    ...
    When I copy/paste append, it just gets added.
    Check
    Check
    Check
    Check
    Check
    Check
    ...
    Check
    ...
    False - fails for me.

    Fancy importing the minimum of offending forms and tables into a new db, zipping and posting?
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    3,713
    Poots ... After how many adds are you getting the BOOM? Is it possible that you're butting up against the hard limit with a value list?
    Back to Access ... ADO is not the way to go for speed ...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    17
    I did what you suggested & created a zip file, including only a few forms and tables. It's size is 4.26 MB
    I tried to attach it 3 times & it failed.
    Is there any other way I can get the file to you?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    17
    M Owen - not possible. There are only 5 or 6 values in one of the fields, & i've tried just copy/pasting 1 record.....

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    Quote Originally Posted by MushMouse
    I did what you suggested & created a zip file, including only a few forms and tables. It's size is 4.26 MB
    I tried to attach it 3 times & it failed.
    Is there any other way I can get the file to you?
    Blimey - no need to post something that substantial One working form and a destination table would be fine. You can empty the table too. Basically the minimum required to demonstrate the problem. Did you compact and repair?

    Else wise:
    poots[at]lycos[dotty]co[dot]uk
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    3,713
    Quote Originally Posted by MushMouse
    M Owen - not possible. There are only 5 or 6 values in one of the fields, & i've tried just copy/pasting 1 record.....
    Again ... That is irrelevant ... Whether pasting 10000 records or THE LAST ONE, if you butt up against the hard limit it will fail ... Now, how much data is in your list currently? You may be correct in that this may not be the problem but, it does eliminate 1 thing ... And as Dan, Izy, and I know well (very well indeed) is that Value lists are tricky beasts and can blow for numerous reasons ...
    Back to Access ... ADO is not the way to go for speed ...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •