Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: MS Access VB Form_Load and test checkbox

Hello, I have very little progamming experience,(Please be gentle). I am trying toenter todays date into a textbox, if a checkbox is true, whenever the Form is loaded or at the event of the checkbox getting checked. I am using Form_Load but it only updates the first record in the data base(Grrr), the other records do not update.
    I am pulling what is left of my hair out. Any help would be appreciated.

Here is my code

Private Sub Form_load()
    If Me.Check101 = True Then
    Me.UPDATE = Date
    End If
    End Sub

Since I am not a 'real' programmer, if you have a suggestion, please display the code... thank

Private Sub Form_AfterUpdate()
    Me.UPDATE = Date
    End If
    End Sub

Private Sub Form_Current()
    Me.UPDATE = Date
    End If
    End Sub

That should do it

However as you did not change the Me.Check101 to False after entering the date. So you need to update that field by me.check101 = false after you entered the date else it will change each time as it is still True

Thanks totally-pbm, I appreciate your help.

However I have a problem, I entered your suggestions and Access started acting irratically... ie, would not let me swing back and forth between the design and view mode. And in the view mode, it would not respond...
    I commented out one routine and then that appeared to allow entering between the two modes. It appears the routines are in a loop of some sort..

I did get some results but because of the 'loop' the results are probably not valid for analyzing the code.

Question in you 2nd statement.... you said I need to update that field by me.check101=false... where would that go? Could you give me the chunk of code for that?

I thank you very much for your attention and especially your patience for Oldie Newbie....

Change to the following:

Private Sub Form_Current()
    Me.UPDATE = Date
    me.check101 = false
    End If
    End Sub