Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Madrid - Spain
    Posts
    422
    Provided Answers: 1

    Unanswered: -503 Too many tables locked.

    Hi,
    I am runing a process and the aplication return this error, you can tell me what is the reason for this error.

    thank you for you help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    140
    #finderr 503

    This database server in this host operating system has a limit on the
    number of tables that can be locked at one time. It was unable to lock
    the table you requested. Roll back the current transaction. Then
    redesign the operation to lock fewer tables, to use row-level locking,
    or to open the database in exclusive mode.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Madrid - Spain
    Posts
    422
    Provided Answers: 1

    Lightbulb

    of course, I need a explanation of this error and why?

    Thank you.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Madrid - Spain
    Posts
    422
    Provided Answers: 1

    Lightbulb

    Hi,
    How many tables can open informix at same time?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    140
    Quote Originally Posted by georgipa
    Hi,
    How many tables can open informix at same time?
    It depends if you lock the tables or not.
    Normally there is no limit for number of open tables, but if are using LOCK TABLE, there
    is a hard limit of 32 tables per user.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Madrid - Spain
    Posts
    422
    Provided Answers: 1

    Lightbulb

    Hi Stanislav,

    Thank you for you help, this value can modify in the configuration? for to increase number lock tables is 100 and how do it.

    Thank you.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    248
    If you need to lock more then 32 tables would it be easier to just lock the whole database?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    140
    Quote Originally Posted by georgipa
    Hi Stanislav,

    Thank you for you help, this value can modify in the configuration? for to increase number lock tables is 100 and how do it.

    Thank you.
    You cant modify this value. So use solutions mentioned in the description of your error: lock fewer tables, use row-level locking or as artemka already sayed just lock the whole database.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •