Red face Unanswered: embarrasing question

I am very new to VB and this question is so basic, I am embarrassed, yet it holding up an important process.

I need to activate the cell under a checkbox, but I can't use a direct reference because the box may move from one place on the worksheet to another. I like the idea of using 'Find', and I think that I am getting close, but that requires me to "Set my Object variable." I get completely lost trying to understand "Set". Can anyone break this down to something understandable for me?

This is what I have been trying to do.

Dim maincell As Object

maincell = CheckBox.Value("ARDS")

Quote Originally Posted by amwiggins
    I am very new to VB and this question is so basic, I am embarrassed, yet it holding up an important process.

I need to activate the cell under a checkbox, but I can't use a direct reference because the box may move from one place on the worksheet to another. I like the idea of using 'Find', and I think that I am getting close, but that requires me to "Set my Object variable." I get completely lost trying to understand "Set". Can anyone break this down to something understandable for me?

This is what I have been trying to do.

Dim maincell As Object

maincell = CheckBox.Value("ARDS")
    are your tring to set maincell to some object?

then you should do

Dim maincell As Object

set maincell = new ThisWorkbook'(this is example, i dont know what object you want it to be)

'only then you will try to set the property inside this object to be equal to 'something

here is my example:

Dim maincell As Object
    'this will make maincell = to the workbook that you are working on.
    Set maincell = New ThisWorkbook

'here actually you will get the value from cell A1 from sheet1
    A1_Value= maincell.Worksheets("Sheet1").Range("A1").Value
    hope this helps

Thanks for your response.