Utrecht, Holland

Unanswered: Conditionally displaying subreports in Crystal Reports 8.5

I am pretty new to Crystal Reports 8.5. I have tried out CRXI trial version and there is an option to create formatting formulas.

This is really good, as we want to create a "super" report which contains the content of many of our individual reports. I have created a small test program in Borland Developer Studio (C++) which sets some boolean parameters that are available in the main "super" report which describe which sub-reports are to be included.

What I would like to do is say if one of the parameters equals true, include the appropriate individual report. However, this seems to be quite difficult in 8.5. With version XI trial I can do this with a Formatting Formula, but we do not have the full version of XI and I would like to accomplish the same functionality with 8.5 if I can.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Crystal Reports 8.5 does have a means to apply conditional formatting to objects and sections. But, it's by using the tools provided by Crystal, not through code, except for some minimal Crystal Syntax or Basic logic. If you get familiar with the tools, functions and shortcuts, you can fly through a complicated report fairly quickly.

I would suggest inserting additional sections for each sub-report if they occur in the same place (details, group1 footer, etc). Then, I would apply a conditional format to "suppress" the section of each report based on the parameters you have created (Y/N parameter, one for each report).

To insert multiple sections do the following:

1) In the Design tab, locate the section containing the sub-reports.

2) Right click on the section in the gray margin (section) area.

3) Select Insert Section Below. A second section will appear below the original with a letter "b" after it. Example: You inserted a new section below Details. The original section becomes Details a; the new section is named Details b.