Thread: a question...

a question...

sorry, but i didn't know where else to post it. i am very new to programming. how new you ask? well so new that you can still smell breastmilk on my breath new. i have taken up learning c++ as a hobby. not that i'm not serious about learning how to do this, but between work and family i can only spend short times reading. the book is teach yourself c++ in 21 days by sams. they said i needn't need a compiler to learn how to program, but i thought while my programming is still in the remedial stages i would go without a compiler for now. they had me do the hello world program. i did it in notepad. but i can't seem to figure out how to execute it. what am i doing wrong? SOS seriously.

Quote Originally Posted by boo gee
    i am very new to programming. how new you ask? well so new that you can still smell breastmilk on my breath new.
    Well, that's not how I learned to program, but whatever works for you...
    You will need the compiler to run your code.
    Learning how to code without a compiler is about like learning how to drive just by reading the owner's manual.
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

Very true. While you can get some good ideas reading the Kama Sutra, you can't really learn anything without the ability to try things "hands on" to see how it works in the real world. You can get all of the concepts down pretty well by reading and writing code, but you don't really know how to program until you can run the silly stuff to see if it does what you thought it would!

-PatP

meh, i was afraid of that. could you drop a few names of good yet reasonably priced compilers please?

I'm sorta fond of free myself, so I'd suggest gcc. This isn't some variety of cut-down wanna-be compiler either... While it might lack the panache of Visual Studio and its kin, this one is the real McCoy.

-PatP