Question Unanswered: Need help upgrading from 3.23 to 4.0

I am a new DBA focusing mostly on Oracle, but I also have a MySQL 3.23 database that has become my responsibility. They want me to upgrade to 5.0, but I understand that I have to upgrade from 3.23 to 4.0, then from 4.0 to 4.1, then to 5.0. UNIX is our O/S. I have five databases including the mysql database. The main one is a Mantis bug tracker database. Its version is 1.0.5. I am fairly familiar with SQL at this point and can get around the databases fine, but I don't know how to prepare for the upgrade properly. My UNIX admin is the keeper of the root passwords, so when I'm done with my end, he'll do the actual software upgrade portion. I just don't know how to do the backup and data import. Somebody told me that I wouldn't be able to just do a mysqldump because of the changes from version 3.23 to 4.0. I need help getting started here.

Thank you in advance for any advice.

-Jacki

caveat: i am not a DBA, i don't do backups and such

do you have a front end like phpmyadmin? this program has an "export" feature which will generate a file called xxxx.sql which contains the CREATE TABLE and INSERT statements that allow you to export the data

then you just execute the .sql file into the new (higher version) database
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

In addition to what r937 has suggested, you should test this backup old version/restore to new version off line on a test server before you commit to upgrading the live server. There is usually a problem with the length of hashed passwords that you need to overcome. Check out the mysql manual sections on the upgrade and version differences.

If you don't have an existing application such as phpmyadmin, the mysql administrator program also has a backup and restore feature that creates the .sql file.