Unanswered: MySQL on windows server

As a complete newbie to MySQL, only having used Ms Access before, I'm finding it impossible to get MySQL 4 or 5 working on my windows server.

(I have a windows server running windows 2003 web edition server that is a dedicated server under my control.)

I've followed the excellent installation guide from the MySQL site and get to the point where the server is running but then I get stuck.

The problem is that I simply don't know what I am doing or what I'm supposed to do nextwith regard to MySQL.
    I was sort of hoping for some type of GUI but that doesn't seem to be an option.

Apologies for being so dim but I would be grateful if someone would take pity on me as I do need something more expansive than access.

One last thing..........should I be looking at Ms SQL Server Express instead?

Thanks for any help.
    Brian.

If you completed the installation, ran the instance configuration wizard, which let you assign a root password, then started the service... all you need to do is start creating databases, users, tables...

There are two GUI tools that are very useful, available on the mysql web site. See the Administrator and Query Browser (also see the Migration Toolkit to let you deal with your existing Access work) - http://www.mysql.com/products/tools/

Initially, logon in the Administrator using your root username and root password. You can then create databases and create and assign users. If you want to experiment, I have found using your favorite scripting language (ASP/PHP) better than typing statements into the query browser because with ASP/PHP the source code is down in a file, where you can copy/paste/change it/reuse it/build on it...

should I be looking at Ms SQL Server Express instead?
    If you're using the database for academic use, mySQL is the best with full functionalities and free. You can also use Oracle 10g Xpress Edition. That's also easy to use and it's fast and free.

Thanks very much for this.