Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    313

    Unanswered: Linked table From SQL Server

    Hi,

    I used ODBC to link the tables from SQL Server to MS Access.

    When I link the table, it popup the message:

    Select Unique Record Identifier

    To ensure the data integrity and to update records, you must choose a field or fields that uniquely each record. Select up to ten fields.

    It force me to set up at least 1 field for primary key in a table.

    How can I skip it? I do NOT want to setup primary key of the fields in a table.

    Please let me know, thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,312
    There is a button on that same form that allows you to skip this. I forget exactly what it is named. In some cases defining the field that is unique makes your queries not work properly.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    313
    No, there is not other button.

    Could you tell me where I can find it?

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    What kind of tomfoolery are you dabbling in that you are avoiding using a primary key?
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

    *** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,482
    Provided Answers: 11
    When I get this Message
    Select Unique Record Identifier

    This is letting msaccess now Record Identifier So it can add records to the database

    The only time I get this error

    1 ....linking a query(view) in msaccess
    its query(view) in SQL server but a table in the access

    2 .... Link a table that does not have a primaary key in it

    If you don't select and thing you can't add new records (thats what I have found)
    hope this help

    StePhan McKillen
    the aim is store once, not store multiple times
    Remember... Optimize 'til you die!
    Progaming environment:
    Access based on my own environment: DAO3.6/A97/A2000/A2003/A2007/A2010
    VB-NET based on my own environment started 2007
    SQL-2005 based on my own environment started 2008
    YOUR PASSWORD IS JUST LIKE YOUR TOOTHBRUSH DON'T SHARE IT.
    DONT WORRY ABOUT THOSE WHO TALK BEHIND YOUR BACK
    THEY'RE BEHIND YOU FOR A REASON

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    Well yeah, lack of primary key renders the entire dataset read-only because Access has no way of communicating records effected.
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

    *** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    313
    But, I want to input data in the table directly without unique identifier.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,482
    Provided Answers: 11
    Nape can't do that Msaccess Need to know what the unique identifier
    cause that the rules of the table.


    need to just look @ the Data structure bit bit more once that has been cracked the world is yours.
    Last edited by myle; 09-03-06 at 05:40.
    hope this help

    StePhan McKillen
    the aim is store once, not store multiple times
    Remember... Optimize 'til you die!
    Progaming environment:
    Access based on my own environment: DAO3.6/A97/A2000/A2003/A2007/A2010
    VB-NET based on my own environment started 2007
    SQL-2005 based on my own environment started 2008
    YOUR PASSWORD IS JUST LIKE YOUR TOOTHBRUSH DON'T SHARE IT.
    DONT WORRY ABOUT THOSE WHO TALK BEHIND YOUR BACK
    THEY'RE BEHIND YOU FOR A REASON

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •