Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    313

    Unanswered: Linked table From SQL Server

    Hi,

    I used ODBC to link the tables from SQL Server to MS Access.

    When I link the table, it popup the message:

    Select Unique Record Identifier

    To ensure the data integrity and to update records, you must choose a field or fields that uniquely each record. Select up to ten fields.

    It force me to set up at least 1 field for primary key in a table.

    How can I skip it? I do NOT want to setup primary key of the fields in a table.

    Please let me know, thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,312
    There is a button on that same form that allows you to skip this. I forget exactly what it is named. In some cases defining the field that is unique makes your queries not work properly.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    313
    No, there is not other button.

    Could you tell me where I can find it?

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    What kind of tomfoolery are you dabbling in that you are avoiding using a primary key?
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

    *** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,422
    Provided Answers: 7
    When I get this Message
    Select Unique Record Identifier

    This is letting msaccess now Record Identifier So it can add records to the database

    The only time I get this error

    1 ....linking a query(view) in msaccess
    its query(view) in SQL server but a table in the access

    2 .... Link a table that does not have a primaary key in it

    If you don't select and thing you can't add new records (thats what I have found)
    hope this help

    See clear as mud


    StePhan McKillen
    the aim is store once, not store multiple times
    Remember... Optimize 'til you die!
    Progaming environment:
    Access based on my own environment: DAO3.6/A97/A2000/A2003/A2007/A2010
    VB based on my own environment: vb6 sp5
    ASP based on my own environment: 5.6
    VB-NET based on my own environment started 2007
    SQL-2005 based on my own environment started 2008
    MYLE
    YOUR PASSWORD IS JUST LIKE YOUR TOOTHBRUSH DON'T SHARE IT.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    Well yeah, lack of primary key renders the entire dataset read-only because Access has no way of communicating records effected.
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

    *** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    313
    But, I want to input data in the table directly without unique identifier.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,422
    Provided Answers: 7
    Nape can't do that Msaccess Need to know what the unique identifier
    cause that the rules of the table.


    need to just look @ the Data structure bit bit more once that has been cracked the world is yours.
    Last edited by myle; 09-03-06 at 05:40.
    hope this help

    See clear as mud


    StePhan McKillen
    the aim is store once, not store multiple times
    Remember... Optimize 'til you die!
    Progaming environment:
    Access based on my own environment: DAO3.6/A97/A2000/A2003/A2007/A2010
    VB based on my own environment: vb6 sp5
    ASP based on my own environment: 5.6
    VB-NET based on my own environment started 2007
    SQL-2005 based on my own environment started 2008
    MYLE
    YOUR PASSWORD IS JUST LIKE YOUR TOOTHBRUSH DON'T SHARE IT.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •