Thread: Sybase Overview

Unanswered: Sybase Overview

Hey guys.. I'm kinda new to sybase and have a general question about ASE, ASA, SQLAnywhere.. and how they are interelated.

1) I'm getting confused trying to distinguish and relate how ASE and ASA work. Any simple explanations would be great.

2) SQLAnywhere is like a client package for Sybase. If I install SQLAnywhere studio do i get SqlAnywhere ASE or ASA drivers?

3) SQLAnywhere ASE is a scaled down version of ASE, correct?

Your help is much appreciated.

ASA (Adaptive Server Anywhere) and SQLAnywhere are essentially the same thing. SQLAnywhere is an evolution of an SQL engine that was originally called Watcom SQL, later bought by PowerSoft, which itself was bought by (or merged with) Sybase. SQLAnywhere is completely unrelated to ASE.

ASE is the original Sybase database engine, originally called SQL Server. SQL Server also forms the basis for MS SQL Server.

I am not really familiar with SQLAnywhere (other than knowing about its history), so I don't really know what you get with SQLAnywhere Studio, though I suspect that you get the SQLAnywhere db server, as well as the appropriate client libraries and apps. I don't know if this will include ASE client libraries (Sybase OpenClient).

Hope this helps,

Michael

SQL Anywhere is from a subsidiary of Sybase called iAnywhere.

It is a seperate product in itself. With ASA Studio pack, You get the SQLAnywhere dataserver and client, plus Ultralite(smaller footprint of the SQL Anywhere db plus app logic compiler, can be in .NET, Java etc) to be loaded on to handheld devices(they call it the "Unwired"), Mobilink(a heterogenous database replication technology, can be written in pure SQL or .NET or Java), SQL Remote ( only native SQL Support, To replicate between ASA <--> ASA or ASE<--> ASA), plus a lot of other drivers, modelling tools.

In fact, ASA is more feature rich than Sybase ASE and you pay a fraction of the cost that you would pay for ASE.