Hello and question :p

Hey there, good to join another great community. I'm very very new to the whole database thing so I'm sure I will have lots of questions as time goes on, but be assured I can use the search funtion. Before I do that seeing as I'm already here I'll just ask about some stuff spacific to my situation.

I work in a research lab, and we keep a database of all our DNA samples that come in. But because this database is run with a really old program called RBASE. Now RBASE itself is really nice in the 7.5 incarnation...I think we are running 1.0. We have a 486 that we boot into DOS to run the program. It's the most sad situation I have ever seen. But because the big boss is smarter than everyone that's what we are sticking with. That being said we want to start a personal DB down the hall, but I don't know which database software would be the best for our situation. We have currently 30k+ samples in our old DB. I could see this getting a lot larger making Access out of the question (which it never really was to start with.) I'm thinking mySQL, but it would be nice to get some other options aswell before I start developing something from scratch.

You might also check Oracle Express Edition (XE) - free version, fully functional, can hold up to 4GB of data (it seems that your 30.000 samples is piece of a cake if compared to 4GB). Check it on the Oracle Technology Network.

As I've heard, MS SQL Server also offers the same as Oracle - free Express Edition database.

unless each of the 30K samples is over a megabyte, Access will quite easily support your data

mysql is a very good choice because it's so easy to set up (even a fool like me can do it) and of course it's lightening fast
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL