Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    4

    Talking Unanswered: Memory of sqlserver.exe cannot released

    Hi everybody

    Help me, Help me.
    When I backup the MSSQL databases using ARCServe 2000 in the server, the memory of sqlserver.exe is 1.5G in task manager. After backup was finished, the memory of sqlserver.exe cannot released. It is still 1.5G. Our users can get the resource of that server but they get it slowly. I need to stop and restart the MSSQL service. The server can back to normal.
    Can everyone fix it ?

    My server is
    Windows 2000 Server Standard Edition with SP4
    Windows SQL 2000 Standard Edition With SP3
    Memory is 2G RAM

    Pls Help.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    In front of the computer
    Posts
    15,579
    Provided Answers: 54
    Do you want to stop and restart SQL Server from a script?

    -PatP

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    4
    PatP
    Thank you for your reply
    I got a one problem. I must need to restart the service using password because this is security reason. So, how to write a script with password

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    4

    Talking How to reinstall ARCserve 2000

    Hi Everybody

    I want to reinstall ARCserve 2000 on the server but I lost the license key.
    I cannot register it. Can I get or export or read the license key / serial number on existing ARCserve 2000 of server for reinstallation ?

    Thank you

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    In front of the computer
    Posts
    15,579
    Provided Answers: 54
    You don't need a password to stop or restart SQL Server. If you are using a Windows Service login, then the password is stored by the service itself. If you need to run the script as a machine administrator, then that password needs to be stored with the Windows Task description. You don't need to code the password into the script, that's a very bad idea and should be avoided.

    -PatP

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    on the wrong server
    Posts
    8,835
    Provided Answers: 6
    could the problem be on the arcserv end. i do not know arcserv, but i am wondering if it is leaving connections open or something like that. have you tried opening up profiler to see what is going on?
    “If one brings so much courage to this world the world has to kill them or break them, so of course it kills them. The world breaks every one and afterward many are strong at the broken places. But those that will not break it kills. It kills the very good and the very gentle and the very brave impartially. If you are none of these you can be sure it will kill you too but there will be no special hurry.” Earnest Hemingway, A Farewell To Arms.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    4
    Hi Pat
    Thanks
    A applications is running with connecting the SQL server on that server. If the sql service is restarted, I need to provide two passwords for application to run it. Although the sql service can use the script automatically, the application on that server need to be ran manually every time.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •