Unanswered: Access query treating text as number

I am using Access 97.
    I have a query that pulls in a field from a table. The field is defined as text, 255 characters. The data that populated the field is actually numbers (0001, 0050, 0300, etc...) and when I look at the data in table view that is how the data is displayed.
    However, when I run a query that links this table with another table, the results of the query do not include the leading zeros (1, 50, 300, etc...).
    I am very new to Access and do not understand why this would happen. I see some threads that could possibly help me with my problem (like change the parameters of the field in the query) but I really need step by step instructions.

Thank you for any help you can give me.

Madison, WI