Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    7

    Unanswered: DTS -Copy tables

    Hi
    I have a DB2 database server.It has 2000+ tables...And I have a MS SQL database server.It has got the same tables.With same schema...
    I want to take all of that tables datas to MS Sql database's tables....
    I try to use DTS Import Data Wİzard but it gace an erro which is Unknown Error!!!

    Now;
    I try to make a DTS which is capable with doing this mission...
    I want to create one DTC package and the source table and destination table names will be changed dynamically...Probably i should use ActiveX Task or Dynamic PropertTask...
    Despite i have searched from net very much i couldnt find any helpfull article or sample for 3 days...I have also checked this one;
    http://www.sqldts.com/default.aspx?246

    But it hasnt helped me too..

    I really wish thatsomebody can help me...
    Thank u all


    Osman AYHAN

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    personally....I would set up unloads from DB2...then ftp the files to the server, where I would have several jobs wake up and do bcp's or bulk inserts into the tables....after truncating them

    Is there RI on the SQL server database?
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    7
    Hi brett

    i dont know whatz unloads which is in DB2...
    What do u mean while saying ftp files to server?Which server and which files?
    Also for BCP's or Bulk inserts i need a traverse betwwen all tables to do this programatically...
    And last question whatz RI?


    Sorry...
    I was thinking i am good at MS SQl
    but after your questions i feel myself poor

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    what version of DB2 and what platform?

    Are you the DB2 DBA?

    And are you planning on doing a full replacement of the Data from DB2?
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    7
    The Version Of the DB2 is V 8.1
    And i am not DBA.I am only software engineer...
    The main goal of this project is taking back up of the main ERP system which is running on DB2 to MS SQL Server...
    I wrote code for this project but it runs so slowly.Becouse of DTS is one of the inner programmes of MS SQL it runs faster and faster than my programme.So I decided to use DTS.For the biggest table which contains 6million row of data it took the datas from DB2 to MS SQL in 43 minutes.And this is an already accepted time manner.
    SO i think if i can write an ActiveX on DTS or whatever instead of creating 2000+ DTS package (I have nearly 2000+ table) i may write a complex DTS which will handle this..
    SO this is the problem..ANd in my company here is not any MS SQl DBA or DB2 DBA...I try to handle all of this with myself...

    Best Regards...

    Osman AYHAN

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    7
    Brett at last i wrote an ActiveX code for getting all table names in the source database...
    Do u have any idea to lighten my road;
    how can i send this table names for processing at the workflow...
    Probably there should be a connection for Datasource 1 for destination and a ActiveX script..
    I want to pass values from ActiveX to Datasource....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •