Unanswered: Automatic Client #... Calculated

I hope I am not overstepping my bounds asking how to do this... I am not a programmer but can play around enough to get into trouble.

I have a client database and want to have the program automatically create a client number which is derrived by calculating the average of the client number before and after the new client. ok... it looks like this:

Client#...... Name

104,223..... Smith
    ???? ..........Turner (new client)
    156,219.... Vasquez

I want the program to calculate the missing number which is the average of 104,223 and 156,219... or 130,221. I have the button created which will input the client information... name, address etc. Upon hitting a button on the form I want the program to put the new client into the list alphabetically AND create the number. Can this be done?

I would be willing to create a whole new form which is simply designed to calculate this number... I can then take the number and input it into the new client form manually.

In Excel I created a macro which does this. I figure where the client fits in the spreadsheet, place my cursor on the cell after the place the new client will be and whamo... it creates the number for me.

I appreciate any help... My version... 2000.

PATA

Playing devil's advocate here ... What do you propose to do if (and when) you get 2 or more clients with the same last name???? Ex:

123456 Public, John Q.

??????? Public, Suzy T.

999999 Zorro, Alfonso

Or better yet, 3 of the same last name where the 3rd slots between the other 2 ... or does it????

Generically, I see a query with the ordering by name then number retrieving the 1st and subtracting the 2nd then divide by 2 ...
    Back to Access ... ADO is not the way to go for speed ...

Provided Answers: 6
    Good point on the names. Generically, I saw a function with recordsets that found the ID's of the clients with the name on either side of the input name, then did the math and returned the average.