Thread: Mentoring

Unanswered: Mentoring

I graduated several years ago with a CS bachelor degree. My first (and current) job hired me mainly to replace a consultant they had been using to administer and modify their DB.

Basically I taught myself Access to accomplish the above. That was three years ago and looking back the DB is designed and implemented poorly, although it works fine. But I believe our data is going to out grow Access in the next couple years so I thought I'd redo the whole thing, again, using Access as the front end and SQL Server 2005 Express (we are a small company) as the backend. My other motivation is I want to learn SQL Server to expand my future job opportunities. Basically I have no room to grow in my current job. I really have no time table or deadline so I can take my time learining SQL Server.

But I always have doubts as to whether or not I'm doing things right. In an ideal world I would have been hired by a software company and learned the ropes. In reality I was hired by a small, non-technical, company and I learned enough to get the job done.

Basically I want to know if anyone with "real world" experience developing client/server solutions would be interested in guiding me in my effort to redo this DB utilizing SQL Server 2005 Express and Access as the front end. The goal is that I will learn how to use these two technologies in a "real world" environment. I would guess most communication would be done via email. I don't need someone to hold my hand just someone to offer advice as to what techniques to use. An example might be should I use bound controls or ADO? Not how do I use bound controls or ADO.

I feel a bit silly posting this, but I've always wanted someone to learn from and this forum seems to be full of helpful people who have the knowledge I'm seeking.

If you are interested please email me (gwgeller@yahoo.com). I can provide much more detail if needed.

Thanks,
    GG

Provided Answers: 54