Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    230

    Unanswered: in online-reorge how can I specify the use tablespace ?

    Hi All,

    I use db2 v8.2.3 and aix5.2

    I am trying to use online reoge as:

    1- db2 "reorge table xxxxx inplace allow write access" but I could not find how can I specify the "USE tablespace-name" it seems it does not work with "inplace allow write access" please help

    2- as you know the online reorge is asyncronouse, is there any command I can recognise which table is reorginging at any time.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    471

    reorg

    for q2 : db2 list utilities show detail should indicate
    for q1 I will have a look
    Best Regards, Guy Przytula
    DB2 UDB LUW certified V6/7/8

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    471

    reorg

    as the syntax diagram indicates : use tbspace can only be specified
    with allow no access - read access
    it will be in the same tbspace as the table resides in
    Best Regards, Guy Przytula
    DB2 UDB LUW certified V6/7/8

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    46
    Its not possible to specify a tablespace for online reorg because of the way the online reorg has been designed. What it does is that it sequentially scans through the original table and builds the new extents/pages in the same tablespace - so when the scan (of the original table) and build (of the table new table) is complete, it just has to switch some pointers to replace the original table.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    230
    Quote Originally Posted by jthakrar
    Its not possible to specify a tablespace for online reorg because of the way the online reorg has been designed. What it does is that it sequentially scans through the original table and builds the new extents/pages in the same tablespace - so when the scan (of the original table) and build (of the table new table) is complete, it just has to switch some pointers to replace the original table.

    Thank you so much Jthakrar and guyprzytula.

    I tried db2 "list utilities show detail" but it does not show anything!!!!!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    3
    Try "db2pd -d <databasename> -reorg"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •