Unanswered: Question on changing startup parameters

I'm new to SQL Server....running SQL Server 2000. Had to move the system database logs to a different drive. Used EM, Server properties, Startup parameters. Changed the transaction log designation. Closed that window. Stopped the server.

Server won't start as I messed up and did not include the file name in the new designated path....just down to directory level.

From what I've seen, I have to be able to start the server service to change the parameters and the server won't start.

Is there a file that contains these parameters I may edit or should I try using the command line options.

Many thanks in advance.

Disregard

Was able to do a reg edit on the parameters and have it running.

You can also start it from a command line with parameters.
    Quote Originally Posted by SQL BOL sqlservr.exe
    sqlservr [-sinstance_name] [-c] [-dmaster_path] [-f]
    [-eerror_log_path] [-lmaster_log_path] [-m]
    [-n] [-Ttrace#] [-v] [-x] [-g number] [-O] [-y number]
    Look at SQL BOL for the complete reference. It's a handy thing to know at 2:00am.

Regards,

hmscott
    Have you hugged your backup today?

Quote Originally Posted by SnowCrash7
    I'm new to SQL Server....running SQL Server 2000. Had to move the system database logs to a different drive. Used EM, Server properties, Startup parameters. Changed the transaction log designation. Closed that window. Stopped the server.

Server won't start as I messed up and did not include the file name in the new designated path....just down to directory level.

From what I've seen, I have to be able to start the server service to change the parameters and the server won't start.

Is there a file that contains these parameters I may edit or should I try using the command line options.

Many thanks in advance.
    Just a note: sometimes the paramters, when used in conjunction with other parameters, will act in an unpredicatable way. use google for more info