Thread: database design

Talking database design

Hello, I'm new and new to creating databases. I studied others in the past and I have what I hope is a simple design question. But first of all, thanks in advance for helping me out.

I'm trying to create a client database for my boss but I'm running into an issue. I have created a "client" table, a table of "personal" info about the client and a "goals"/works in progress table.

In each table I have created a row for a customer number as the primary key and linked it back to the "client" table which is also the primary in the client table.

One of the things my boss wants to include in the goals table is what products the client has already purchased and the product item number for each product already purchased. My question is this: If A client has purchased item 001,002,003,085 and 151 and client B has purchased 151 and 003 and client C has purchased 085; because it's possible to have a client purchasing multiple items and multiple items being purchased by multiple clients another table of "purchase history" is not going to be enough, is it?

Do I need to create another database of all item numbers and products?
    Is so how do I then set up the "purchase history" table within the 1st db that I started?

Thanks, again.
    Pepatti

You have mentioned 3 entities: clients, products and purchases. (I'm ignoring "goals" because that doesn't seem to be relevant here). So that's 3 tables:

create table clients (client_code primary key, ...);
    create table products (product_code primary key, ...);
    create table purchases (purchase_id primary key, client_code references clients, product_code references products, purchase_date date, ...);

For your examples:

insert into clients (client_code, ...) values ('A', ...);
    insert into clients (client_code, ...) values ('B', ...);
    insert into clients (client_code, ...) values ('C', ...);

insert into products (product_code, ...) values ('001', ...);