Unanswered: how robust of mySQL ?

hi good day, is mysql be reliable as holding 10gb data ? i'm new to mysql, how good as it compare to postgres ? thank you

Depends on the OS stability and filesystem,

i have 8G data with more than 30Millions data for a live search, so far no problem.

I'm also curious.

In terms of things like reliability, resiliance to OS failure, backup and recover options, tools and utilities, performance analysis and tracing, broad support by 3rd party vendors like Quest and Symantec, Scalibility, indexing performance, general performance, support of ANSI definitions, robust procedural language, etc etc.

How would it compare to say, SQL Server or Oracle? Could you run a $100,000,000 company on it (full ERP and Manufacturing) without sorely regretting the decision? How about a $2,000,000 (20 employee) sales company?

An 8GB database - that's pretty large for running on a free-bee. Ours is 2GB (SQL Server) and no wall yet.

Linux was passed over for years but now look at who's depending on it.

We need to change our perception on open source programming..
    Mysql is compareable with other db providers.

http://www.mysql.com/why-mysql/
    http://www.mysql.com/customers/
    Kishore

Provided Answers: 54
    The problem that I see here is that there are really two or more questions to be answered. The MySQL product itself is pretty stable. Different implementations of MySQL can range from "rock solid" to "goes minutes at a time without crashing" and everywhere in between.

In terms of the raw MySQL product itself as provided by MySQL, you should be able to achieve better than "three nines" (99.9%) uptime as delivered on industry standard hardware. I know of more than one installation that has consistantly achieved "four nines" (99.99%) uptime, but they also have over $500,000 US of MySQL support on staff too.