Unanswered: Last time indexes were rebuilt?

Is there a query that will tell you the last time dbms_stats.gather_schema_stats was run or that a dbs indexes were rebuilt?

I have a customer that I do not believe is maintaining their indexes properly. Not being a dba, I'm not sure what to look for other than performance downturns.

Thank you.

Provided Answers: 4
    Would something like this be useful?
    Code:
    SQL> select to_char(sysdate, 'dd.mm.yyyy hh24:mi:ss') now from dual;

NOW
    -------------------
    09.10.2006 23:01:21

SQL> analyze index pk_test estimate statistics;

Index analyzed.

SQL> select to_char(last_analyzed, 'dd.mm.yyyy hh24:mi:ss') when
      2  from user_indexes where index_name = 'PK_TEST';

WHEN
    -------------------
    09.10.2006 23:01:26

SQL>

Littlefoot,

Awesome. Thank you! That looks like it will work very well for what I need.

As a followup, is there an industry standard or rule of thumb as to how often dba's should rebuild their indexes? Understandably, this would vary based upon the type of application system the DB is supporting.

Thank you again.

Well its debatable if you need to rebuild indexes regularly. If you goto Jonathan Lewis's or Tom Kyte's website you'll see they recomend NOT rebuilding indexes except when you can prove that there are tangible benefits which outweigh the cost of the rebuild (and that the index wont rapidly return to the state prior to the rebuild).

Having said that due to the way our main application works we find an index rebuild reduces index size by 50%. This is due to a peculiarity with the way the app works which means when customers enter data and then subsequently updates the index multiple times the PK index fragments. Since the table is partitioned by month, once that month is completed there are no longer any updates thus the benifits of the rebuild stay.

Alan