Unanswered: After installing oracle 8i database I can not log on (was "Beginner with problems")

Hi to every body,
    I am a beginner in oracle wishing grow in it. After installing oracle 8i database I can not log on. requesting for username, password and host string, please is my installation complete and correct? Please some one respond.

Provided Answers: 4
    It is difficult to guess what might be wrong; you gave too few information. What does it mean "I can not log on"? What happens? Do you get any ORA error messages? If so, which one (its code)?

Is the installation finished? I don't know - it usually says when it finishes. Did you see a message saying "installation finished successfully" or something like that?

Provided Answers: 1
    otukpa, assuming that your database was installed correctly you need to log on using one of the default accounts (e.g. SYS, SYSTEM) with its default password.

Default accounts? Default passwords? It's all in the manual; you just have to read up on it
    90% of users' problems can be resolved by punching them - the other 10% by switching off their PCs.

Thanks to all that responded to my quest. I will really sit up to study this very well, I know this forum is the right place to be if one reaaly want learn more harder.

Otukpa

Actually, not knowing username + password combination is a trivial problem (if that is the only thing that prevents you from connecting to the database). Default ones are SYS/CHANGE_ON_INSTALL and SYSTEM/MANAGER; default schema which will allow you to test your SQL abilities is SCOTT/TIGER (which might be locked, so you'll need to unlock it first).

But, if this is not the point, describe it and we'll see what next.