Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Crash!!!!!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    28

    Unanswered: Crash!!!!!

    help! I set up a databse for my company to track data and it all work's fine but now they have increased the number for tables to 35. I can only have 16 table's per query, so I have used "sub queries" to overcome this and it is ok, but when I try and run a report based on this query the system just crashes. I have found I can have up to 24 tables without it crashing. Am I doing something wrong or do I need to upgrade to a more powerful version of Access?? (I'm using 2002 version)

    any help is greatly appreciated!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    20,002
    you are probably doing something wrong, specifically, separate tables where the data should be all in one table

    what are some of these table names? what's in them?
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    28
    I have different tables for different processes as their input comes from barcode scanners around the factory floor.
    I have a primary key defined for each table with enforced referential integrity between each.
    So each table has a column for the barcode number and then a column (e.g. Rough turned) where the date is entered when the task is complete.
    The reason I have different tables rather than enetering them all into one is that I was planning to split the tables so they could all be open simultaneously and have inputs from scanners via an ethernet box.

    Does that make sense??

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    20,002
    yes it makes sense

    i think you'll want to combine your tables using a Create Table query with several tables queries with a UNION query

    you can combine 16 tables into one, then another 16 into a second, and so on

    then combine the combined tables for your final query
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia USA
    Posts
    2,763
    Provided Answers: 19
    I'm just curious, Access 2000 Help lists the Tables Limit in a Query as being 32, not 16. Has it really been reduced in Ac2003?
    Hope this helps!

    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    20,002
    oh, i just pulled the number 16 out of the air

    the idea is that you combine as many tables into one as you can
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    28
    Thanks that's a brilliant idea! I'll let you know how it work's!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia USA
    Posts
    2,763
    Provided Answers: 19
    Wasn't addressing you, r937,nd you didn't really pull 16 out of the air! Claire sited the 16 table limit in her original post!
    Hope this helps!

    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •