Unanswered: Automatic Value for Key - Trigger

I'm fairly new to Oracle and have inherited a very non-normalized database.
    In adding tables, I need to have Record IDs that are unique created upon each insert.
    The value should be sequential.
    I assume I need a Trigger, based upon another table I have inherited.
    The trigger code looks like this:
    BEGIN
    SELECT prod1.S_11440_1_Claim_Input.nextval
    INTO :new.ID
    FROM dual;
    END;

To me this says that it's storing a value in a prod1 Table called Claim_input
    but I can't see the table (I use TOAD and have admin rights).

How do I set it up for a new table called CLIENT that has a CLIENT_ID?
    Could someone point me in the right direction?

What the trigger is doing is to get the next available sequence number from the oracle sequence S_11440_1_Claim_Input and save it in the column ID in the new row that it is inserting.

Code:
    CREATE OR REPLACE TRIGGER CLAIM_INPUT_T1
    Before INSERT
    ON CLAIM_INPUT
    REFERENCING OLD AS OLD NEW AS NEW
    FOR EACH ROW
    BEGIN
      SELECT prod1.S_11440_1_Claim_Input.nextval
      INTO :new.ID
      FROM dual;
    END;
    Bill
    You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.

OK - but if I have the new table CLIENT with CLIENT_ID,
    where do I get the value from?

I'm assuming there's a separate (hidden?) lookup table for each table.
    The S_11440_1_Claim_Input sounds to me like a table. Is it automatically created?